Midwest Meets Manhattan


Your opinions: tell them to me.
August 5, 2009, 11:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m going to the beach on Friday and I need good books to read. Tell me what you’re reading.

If you are viewing this and not commenting, I am disappointed. I don’t care who you are or if I know you. I want to know what you’re reading.

And I don’t care if it’s a beach read – thanks for bringing that up, Roy. Any book. Anything. I am dying for new literature.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

America Pastorale (Philip Roth), but it’s definitely not a beach read. In fact, I’ve been slowly picking away at it for several weeks.

Comment by missionreaction

currently reading:
All Creatures Great and Small (Herriot) and The Dharma Bums (Kerouac)

Comment by kooi

The Time Traveler’s Wife!

Comment by Sommer

James Herriot is good. All Creatures Great and Small is really, really wonderful. I laughed so much. So whoever suggested that did a really good job.

Now, I’m not sure about your taste in genres or anything, but if you’re not opposed to the slightly fantastical (which I assume you aren’t, HP fren) then I highly recommend Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell which is a period account of the last remaining magicians (and they’re really wizards) in England. It’s really charming and combines the best parts of Austen, Bronte, etc. with the best parts of modern fantasy and historical fiction (a la The Historian). Really, it is one of my favorites. But it is really long.

Also, something tragic and humorous and wonderful is The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, which is a quick read and really one of the most charming books I’ve ever read.

And I will always recommend Salinger. I don’t care how much of a hipster cliche it makes me to love him.

Comment by Ben

Hi, you don’t know me at all… I also interned in publishing (for 2 summers, at lit agencies) and randomly stumbled across your blog.

I’m reading some YA that hasn’t been published yet, swiped from my boyfriend’s lit agency…so that’s not helpful.

BUT I always recommend 1. The Thirteenth Tale and 2. Fingersmith, both of which are SO brilliant and unique.

Comment by Kat




Leave a Reply

