Midwest Meets Manhattan


Today’s Event: The Blaircut
July 22, 2009, 5:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Since we had a meeting today and I had the afternoon in the city and my ends were looking rather choppy and gross, I decided to get a haircut.

Having done so, I deem it The Blaircut, in honor of the look I’m going for. I never ever in a million years thought I’d be aspiring to the look of Gossip Girl, but then again, I never ever in a million years thought I’d be spending the summer in New York, either.

It’s actually the Zooeycut, since I wanted to get a cut like Zooey Deschanel. And believe me, it looks GREAT. Well, you don’t have to believe me, because I’m about to show you. Let me tell you what I did today.

I went to my meeting at Random House with the Digital Publishing Group to hear David Karp, the 23-year-old founder of the Tumblr blogging platform, speak about Tumblr and basically social media in general. Two things: 1) He was absolutely fascinating, and 2) He was absolutely very cute. And lucky me, I got to sit across from him and work the video camera the whole time, so I had plenty of gratuitous opportunity to look. πŸ™‚

That aside.

I went to Forever 21 and bought some jewelry with my store credit (did you know they only give credit for returns? I found that out this summer, surprise!) when I intended to buy sunglasses (Because I accidentally left mine in my mom’s hotel room the night before they left, and they are now in OK). But I found no sunglasses I liked, so I bought two bracelets, a ring, and a headband. I plan to buy more rings. I like wearing them.

Then I walked into the nearest Duane Reade (like Walgreens) and stood in front of the fashion magazines, flipping through them for pictures of Zooey. Since (500) Days of Summer just came out and she is also very beautiful and fashionable, I knew I’d be able to find a review and some glamour shots. I went through Elle and Glamour before I finally found it in InStyle – which also has my faaaave Katherine Heigl on the cover. So not only did I get a fantastic picture of Zooey, I got a great new magazine to read on the train tomorrow! I love fashion mags. Judge me all you want. I love them.

Then I pulled out my handy iPhone and drew up the HopStop app (soooo the handiest thing I’ve found while here) and walked my way six blocks to Astor Place Hair Style. Hairstylist. Hairstyles. I’m not sure how it ends.

But I walked down into what felt like the dungeon, since it’s a basement salon, and I realized that this is where I am getting my hair cut every time after I move back here. It’s on the Lower East Side, so it’s cheap and you get a haircut by someone who is trained for years. The man who cut my hair looked like a Hispanic Richard Gere and said he’d lived here cutting hair for 25 years. His name was Jose, and he was very nice. If you’re in the market for a good haircut, I’d recommend him, definitely. I found the place on Yelp, and apparently a TON of people love going there – they take walk-ins, have a ton of stylists working there, and it’s a really friendly atmosphere. They were playing oldies the whole time I was in there, which was even more fun.

So I went in and said, “I want to look like her.”

12_30_08deschanel2front.0.0.0x0.300x232.jpeg

Unfortunately, I can’t find the image from InStyle online anywhere, so I can show you this. But I’m guessing you all pretty much know who she is, and you can get a better idea of what I asked for if you watch the trailer for the movie, a few posts down.

Anyway, I knew it wouldn’t be exact because, duh, her hair is a lot longer than mine.

But, ta da!

Photo 14

And to give you a better idea of how the bangs fall and how it looks with a headband (sorry for the bad lighting):

Photo 16

My favorite part? This calls for big eye makeup all the time. And you know I love my eyeliner and mascara.

Obviously, I don’t look like I’m on the red carpet because I haven’t teased my hair and I don’t have a headband in right now, but when I do, I’m going to look just like her. My hair will, anyway.

So, what do you think?

I absolutely love it.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ah, Bay!!! You look so FABULOUS! I love the style so much! It is classic and modern all at the same time; in other words: the perfect hair cut. Rock it.

Comment by kayleeshaine

Love it! I will get dolled up soon (with the intense eye make-up that bangs require) and post a picture, too. You are precious and definitely rock the Zooey look!

Comment by characara

I absolutely LOVE it!!! i wish i could do that with my frizzball hair… πŸ™‚ perfect inspiration and loving the headband too!

Comment by Erin

I know I’m falling behind on comments. I’m exhausted lately from everything. Sorry for that.

BUT this, my friend, needed a good comment.

Your hair looks incredible.

Comment by Rebekah Bruce Parker




Leave a Reply

