Midwest Meets Manhattan


Penny on the Train Tracks
July 7, 2009, 12:57 pm
Filed under: Out and About

Do you ever have those moments when you’re drinking coffee out of a travel cup with one of those lids with the small drinking hole (yes, like Starbucks, but I’m not drinking Starbucks so I didn’t feel like I should corporatize everything), and you start to take it from your mouth, and you move a little too quickly or something, and you end up with coffee up your nose, on the desk, sometimes on your shirt?

Yeah, that just happened to me. Again. I’m not sure how I feel about the fact that this is a rather frequent occurence for me.

[Also, I choose to ignore the fact that I have not blogged in over a week. I apologize. Now, I move on.]

The other day, I was sitting on the train, and I overheard a little conversation that went something like this:

Female suit: I hate it when sometimes the train gets stalled because there are children on the tracks. I mean, why are they playing on the train tracks?

Suit: I have no idea. You’d think they could go play on the playgrounds or something when the crack addicts aren’t around during the day.

Female suit: Yeah.

Suit: I heard that sometimes cows get on the train tracks and stall traffic.

Female suit: Where did you hear that? We don’t have cows up here, at least not this close to Manhattan. That only happens in the Midwest.

They then proceeded to exit the train, and I cowered in the seat behind where they had stood, wondering if they knew that we don’t even have trains for our bumbling cows to stall. I mean, we have a few, but when was the last time you heard of a train actually being stalled for cows? Oh, like, the early 1900s? Yeah, me too.

Good to know we’re still a century behind back there.

And I’m pretty sure this was the same day my bus took out a trashcan on the way home. Yes. Took a wide turn and the victim was a little too close to the curb, apparently. Sorry, NYC. Just lost a valued receptical.

[Be looking for posts over the next few days. I have a lot to catch you up on, like museum visits and the like. It will be wonderful. I have pictures of many famous paintings. Paintings you will know.

Hint: I totally saw Starry Night in person, and have pics as proof. None of that “pics or it didn’t happen” junk.]

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Apology accepted- reluctantly. I missed the blogging. A lot.

I recently had for the first time a Starbucks Splask Stick: http://starbucksgossip.typepad.com/_/2008/04/starbucks-quiet.html. They double as a stir stick.

Comment by Rebekah

Yes. Your brother and I did comment on your blog. We’re hanging out this week. No big deal.

I miss you, too.

And blogger’s kinda dumb. Word verification’s kinda dumb. Supposedly, it blocks spam comments. But hey, I think spam comments would be better than no comments.

Comment by Karissa

Bailey,

I’ve really enjoying reading your blogs this summer. Amazing experience you’re having.

I know you’re busy, but I saw a review of an exhibit but I’m too far away and you’re closer to it:

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/08/arts/design/08panorama.html

Can’t wait to see you in person and hear more about your summer.

Scott

Comment by Scott LaMascus




Leave a Reply

