Midwest Meets Manhattan


If I could open my arms and span the length of the isle of Manhattan –
June 24, 2009, 6:04 pm
Filed under: Out and About

Today was a good day. I mean, I spent seven hours emailing with people around the country and setting up phone interview times for this thing we’re doing at work (ps If you’re 20-40 and a fairly heavy Internet user and you’re willing to do a 20-minute interview about your reading habits, during EST working hours, hit me up), but other than that, it was a good day.

I like to think of this as a good thing because I get to know these people’s names and they’re hearing mine, even if it is just doing intern things. My name is still going around the publishing world, and that’s what I want. Even if I meet someone later and they say, “Oh, you’re the girl who emailed me asking about that interview that one time…I think…” then that’s good enough for me, haha.

We’ve got a couple of really exciting books coming up at work right now – some good contemporary books, which is especially exciting. It’s surprisingly difficult to get the rights to have contemporary books on our site, so some of the things we have coming up are very exciting and you should wait with baited breath for them. Unfortunately, I can’t tell you what they are right now because that’s against the Rules, but just wait.

This really isn’t what I planned to blog about right now.

I’ve been going to this coffee shop across the street from work for about two weeks now because they brew their own coffee and it is delicious. Like, it’s insane. It might be the best coffee I’ve ever had. I’m going to have to stock up before I come back home because I absolutely love it.

The first time I went, I’d had kind of a long day and didn’t have time to catch the train, so I went in to get a wrap for dinner because I’d heard it was good. The man and his wife who own and run it were both there and were really friendly and sat down with me and talked to me about what I was doing this summer and how things were going. Along with the town policeman, who happened to be in there hanging out because it’s Mamaroneck and he’s not real busy.

So I’ve gone back about five times since then, just to get their coffee, and they’re always really friendly and ask how my day is and are just chatty. I love the small-town feel of Mamaroneck – it’s a small town, but it’s only 30 minutes outside Manhattan, so they aren’t rednecks. Most of them work in the city, and live in Mamaroneck because it’s cheaper and on the water and you don’t have to worry about the dangers of living in the city.

But I had a really good moment today. Well, I felt bad, but it made me happy.

I went to get coffee after work because I’ve been inexplicably tired all day, and I didn’t have any cash. Well, I forget that in small towns not everyone takes a card. So when I tried to pay, he was like, “I’m sorry, we don’t take cards.” And I was like, “Oh no, um…ack. I don’t have any cash. I’m sorry.” And I felt really bad.

And then he was like, “No, just take the coffee. We’ll give you credit – you can pay next time.” And I tried to say no because I still felt awful, but he insisted that I take the coffee.

It just made me happy to have a moment of real generosity this summer. I mean, not that everyone around me is selfish, but in NYC, you always have to be suspicious of people and watch where you’re going. And I forget that life doesn’t always have to be like that.

So I had an amazing coffee on the train home, and I’m going to march back in tomorrow morning with cash and pay for today’s coffee and buy another one. They’re a really sweet couple – I’ll have to take a picture sometime and show you.

Oh, and did I mention that the coffeeshop is called the Mug N Plus? I mean. I don’t really get it. But it’s adorable, isn’t it?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think that made my day and it didn’t even happen to me.

Made my day almost as much as hearing I get to see a screening of HP6 before it comes out. That’s right. 🙂

Comment by Kayla

What a great story.

I love when something like that happens- it’s just plain loving.

Comment by Rebekah

G.W. at MugNPlus is a good guy. He’s very proud of the coffee he roasts on site (and rightfully so – it’s delicious). I had the same experience learning that he didn’t take cards. We were purchasing coffee for my wife on Mother’s Day. He said “Your face is your credit.” Needless to say, I rushed back with cash ASAP. Do yourself a favor and visit them.

Comment by Steve

I used to live in Rye, and worked in Mamaroneck. I had a similar experience at MugnPlus. It’s been over a year since I moved from that area…is MugnPlus still open? I’m trying to get in contact with G.W. He and Heijin were some of the most sincere people I’ve ever met.

Comment by Amy




Leave a Reply

