Midwest Meets Manhattan


Going to Work Playlist
June 22, 2009, 10:13 pm
Filed under: Out and About

So, I finished reading my (signed copy) of David Sedaris’ “When You Are Engulfed in Flames” (which I HIGHLY recommend), and I’ve been bored riding to work every day. Sometimes I can write in my journal, but the other half of the time I either get asked by a crazy person what I’m doing and what I’m writing, or I’ve managed to sit too near the end of the train car and it’s too bumpy to write.

I’ve been wishing I could listen to music, and then I realized that, duh, I have an iPhone. I always forget that thing plays music, too. So I made a Going to Work Playlist – creative names, I know. My playlists are either made by the iTunes Genius and are labeled by the titular song or have such monikers as “great music,” “Workout Mix,” “Study Music,” and “Recently Played.” The Genius usually gives me better playlists than I can make myself, so 75% of my playlists are from there.

Anyway.

Here’s what I listen to on the way to work. Perhaps it will inspire you to listen to these. Perhaps not. Either way, I still enjoy them.

  1. Expo 86 – Death Cab for Cutie
  2. Blue Lips – Regina Spektor
  3. The Calculation – Regina Spektor
  4. Dance Anthem of the 80s – Regina Spektor
  5. Eet – Regina Spektor
  6. Laughing With – Regina Spektor
  7. Man of a Thousand Faces – Regina Spektor
  8. One More Time With Feeling – Regina Spektor
  9. How the West Was Won – Katie Herzig
  10. The Dress Looks Nice on You – Sufjan Stevens
  11. The Ice is Getting Thinner – Death Cab for Cutie
  12. I Feel It All – Feist
  13. Pony (It’s OK) – Erin McCarley
  14. Annie Waits – Ben Folds
  15. To Be Alone With You – Sufjan Stevens
  16. Marching Bands of Manhattan – Death Cab for Cutie
  17. Swimming Pool – The Submarines
  18. Human Hands – Sondre Lerche
  19. Landed – Ben Folds
  20. Be OK – Ingrid Michaelson
  21. Breakable – Ingrid Michaelson
  22. Keep Breathing – Ingrid Michaelson
  23. Here I Dreamt I Was an Architect – The Decemberists
  24. Heart Attack Time Machine – Waterdeep
  25. You and I – Ingrid Michaelson
  26. Prison Food – Ben Folds
  27. Title and Registration – Death Cab for Cutie
  28. California – Copeland
  29. A Movie Script Ending – Death Cab for Cutie
  30. In Your Apartment – Charlotte Sometimes
  31. Tiny Vessels – Death Cab for Cutie
  32. Make This Go On Forever – Snow Patrol
  33. Wreck of the Day – Anna Nalick
  34. Miss You Love – Maria Mena
  35. Sorry – Maria Mena
  36. Cologne (Piano Orchestra Version) – Ben Folds
  37. Kylie from Connecticut – Ben Folds
  38. Your Heart is an Empty Room – Death Cab for Cutie
  39. Late – Ben Folds
  40. Step Into My Office, Baby – Belle and Sebastian

Wow. 40 songs. I didn’t realize it was so extensive until I started typing it up. And yes, I do play it on shuffle. Sometimes. Sometimes I like hearing the same person over and over. Sometimes I do one song repeat.

Any way you slice it, this playlist is fantastic, in my opinion. Et tu?

Also, If you haven’t noticed, I have a small love affair with parentheses lately. I’m not sure why.

I have lots of commentary, I suppose.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love commentary and ADORE parentheses.

I WANT your playlist just how it is. Can you just copy and paste that right to my little computer over here please???

Comment by Rebekah

Rebekah, if I could, I would. It’s a fantastic playlist.

The new Regina Spektor cd is AMAZING. It’s so unique. I love it.

Comment by baileymichelle

I just recently discovered “Step into my Office Baby” and its one of my favorite Belle and Sebastian songs now.

Losing a CD and then paying 18 bucks for it to the library and then finding it really sucks. But I’m glad it was Belle and Sebastian.

Comment by Taylor

Nice!

Comment by macromedia




Leave a Reply

