Midwest Meets Manhattan


My Future: Here It Is.
June 17, 2009, 12:34 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to do after I graduate. I know I want to work in publishing. This summer is only firming that decision. I’m absolutely loving it here, and since the industry is basically grounded in NYC, I don’t mind having to live here. I mean, twist my arm. Let’s be real.

Riding on the train every morning makes me want to live in one of these little towns, though. I pass through about six of them on the way to Mamaroneck every day, and I just fall in love with them.

I know I’m basically glorifying a suburb here, but I just feel like these are different. Sure, the only one I’ve actually walked around is Mamaroneck. But it’s different than a small town because it’s thirty minutes from Manhattan. I guess I don’t really know how to explain it. It’s just different.

But I would love to live in one of these little towns and take the train in to work every day.

They’re all right along the water, so there’s always a beach, and everyone seems so nice.

I want to live here.

In other news, I have taken to calling my yellow sunglasses my funglasses because I always get called out when I wear them. Always. So I have my regular sunglasses, and then I have my funglasses. I wear the funglasses when I’m going to do something fun, which also contributes to the name. Since they’re bright yellow, they’re a check on the hipster side of the list (I think).

For those of you who don’t follow me on Twitter, I’m having an inner battle of wanting to be a hipster and wanting to be a socialite. I am neither, obviously, but wouldn’t it be fun? Right now I’m leaning more toward socialite (think Gossip Girl, Sex and the City). I wish I could be a hipster, but honestly, I just don’t think I have what it takes. Which is so sad. Oh well.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was never cool in school. I’m sure you don’t remember. And now it’s been 10 years; I’m still wonderin’ who to be.

And I love to mix in circles, cliques, and social coteries, that’s me. HAND ME MY NOSE RING. Can we be happy? Show me the mosh pit. Can we be happy?

Funglasses- classic. I need to see these glasses still.

I really wish we could visit.

My most sincere love to you

Comment by Rebekah

The summer I spent working in publishing absolutely had a positive effect on me.

Keep chugging. It’s totally in your reach. 🙂

Comment by Jaime

go with your strengths. being a socialite sounds more fun that being a hipster, anyway. but maybe that is just me.

Comment by kayleeshaine




Leave a Reply

