Midwest Meets Manhattan


Yeah, I know, Worst Blogger Ever.
June 6, 2009, 7:24 pm
Filed under: Out and About

Sorry. Work this week has kept me tired, and I haven’t felt like blogging much.

However, it’s 6:30 on Saturday and my feet are sleepy from running around all day, so I’m going to do a little bit of blogging. Question: In situations where I have a lot to say, should I throw it all in one blog or make it several shorter ones? I lean toward several shorter ones, so that the stories are contained. I don’t know. Tell me what you think.

First of all, I’d like you all to know that I’m probably not coming home. Ever. If you follow me on Twitter, you probably know that. Ok, you caught me – I lied. I have to come back for school, but it’s definitely my dream to live here someday. There’s so much going on all the time, and it’s just like no place I’ve ever been. It’s great.

Second, Parker Posey is one of my favorite actresses. Every time I see her in a movie or something, I can’t stop laughing. I don’t know if she’s a very good actress, but I just love her.

But things are going really really well here, if you couldn’t tell. Work was great this week, and I’ve been going out in the evenings and it’s just been really fun. Now that I know my way around and how to use public transit and that kind of thing, I feel like I can do anything. It’s great.

Back to work. I took some pictures so I can actually show you what I’m doing during the week.

IMG_0240

Here’s my train stop at Mamaroneck, pronounced ma-MARE-o-neck. It’s a really nice, relaxing ride in the mornings. I’ve been doing a lot of reading on my way to work. It’s nice.

IMG_0238

The train tracks shot. I know. I just love train tracks – I think they’re great.

IMG_0241

Here’s a shot of Mamaroneck and Halstead, where I cross the street to get to work. This is probably the best street ever in a small town. It’s about a mile long, ends at the ocean, and has every kind of food imaginable. Really. They’re building a Mexican restaurant underneath where I work right now.

IMG_0243

Down the sidewalk. I thought this shot would look cooler than it does.

IMG_0244

408, our address! Also me, taking an iPhone picture.

IMG_0245

These are the treacherous stairs I have to climb every day. They’re very steep and small. Good thing there’s a handrail or I’d be in trouble.

So there you have it. I haven’t got a picture of my desk yet or anything, but I’m sure someday I’ll put something up.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

1) LOVE Parker Posey.

2) Good thing about the handrail- especially in heels!

Comment by Rebekah




Leave a Reply

