Midwest Meets Manhattan


What even is all of this Indian food?
June 1, 2009, 8:45 pm
Filed under: Out and About

So, basically yesterday was the best day of my trip so far. I mean, this whole week has been pretty great, for the most part, but it’s been kind of sad because I haven’t really known anyone in town. Earlier, my aunt had emailed me the name of a girl from Kansas who’s doing an architecture internship up here this summer, and I finally sucked it up and emailed her.

She called me back, and I hopped on the 1 down to the Village, where I met her at Father Demo Park. Fountain. Something. We walked around for a while and went to this place called Yogurtland – which, coincidentally, is the exact same as Orange Tree only with better flavors – and just walked around some more. She lives down near Nolita (North of Little Italy), so we walked through NoHo, SoHo, Chinatown, Little Italy, The Village, everywhere. Basically it was fantastic.

Then the four of us met up with two of their guy friends and went to this amazing little Indian food place. It was lit up like a Christmas tree outside. You know how people always talk about Christmas vomiting in someone’s living room in December? This was like Christmas vomiting on a restaurant – literally the entire surface of the restaurant, inside and out, was covered with blinking lights. And it was two stories.

They had fantastic food, which we all kind of split between us, and then we had mango ice cream and this weird little tasteless orange pudding type thing.

Anyway, that was my night last night. It was pretty fantastic. NYC isn’t as lonely when you actually know someone.

Oh, and for those of you who are interested, you know I have a love/hate relationship with the Twilight movies. So imagine my surprise when the first trailer for the next movie came out this weekend, and actually doesn’t look like the worst movie in the world. I mean, it has a long way to go for the Oscars, but at least it’s better than the bad-effects-fest that was the original.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, I’m not going to see the movie. Sorry. — I have this great fear of being in a city like New York and completely alone. To ensure that never happens, I got married, but I’m not necessarily recommending that for you this summer. I’m glad you’re having a good experience, and I wish you the very best in your internship. If you have the chance, walk over Brooklyn Bridge at dusk. I went to New York for a few days a couple of years ago, and that was one of my favorite experiences.

Comment by Roy

“Christmas vomiting on a restaurant”

Brilliant.

Also, I’m not sold yet on Twilight anything. I heard the writing isn’t THAT great. Which makes me feel like it’s not worth it.

But women everywhere keep pressuring me to read it.

Do you think I’d like them?

Comment by Rebekah




Leave a Reply

