Midwest Meets Manhattan


Oh hey, Empire State Building.
May 29, 2009, 4:05 pm
Filed under: Out and About, Sightseeing

Today, I walked past the Empire State Building several times before I realized what it was. Cool.

I took the 1 train down to Times Square, where I then took  the 7 train over to Grand Central and then got out and walked around for a few hours. I went several cool places, my favorite being the 3-story NY flagship H&M. That may or may not have been the goal for the day. Just sayin’.

But in other notable places –

IMG_0210Look familiar, 30 Rock watchers? Yep. That’s right.

IMG_0211I call this the “I’m trying really hard not to look like a tourist taking pictures with my iPhone” shot. You’ll see more of this shooting mode later on.

IMG_0213Such as this shot. What is this? What exactly was I trying to capture here? Obviously, it was a failure and I didn’t realize it.

IMG_0214Rockefeller Plaza, from a little bit of a distance. Also known as “The Tourists: Let Me Show You Them.”

IMG_0215

Mm. Yes. This was a fantastic store. Great sales. Unfortunately, Anthropologie, I still do not want your harem pants.

IMG_0218Um, yes please.

IMG_0219Um, yes puhleeeeeeze.

IMG_0220

IMG_0221Cool! I want to do this. Except maybe when I have $20 to spare on an elevator. Ugh.

IMG_0223Makes you a little woozy, doesn’t it?

IMG_0224Yeah yeah 30 Rock!! Been wanting to see this since I got here.

IMG_0225And again 🙂

IMG_0226Man, 10 years ago I would’ve been flipping out over this. I loved American Girl.

IMG_0229This is the Sephora for people who enjoy optical illusions. Such as myself.

IMG_0231Ah, back to Grand Central so my poor toes can get some rest.

And when I got back, I had two nice surprises waiting for me. One, my other roommate Samie (sam-ya) is here! She’s really cool. I like her a lot.

Two, my garment rack has arrived! I finally beat it into cooperation and now my clothes are hanging so nicely on it. It looks very good. Takes a lot of the space over by the door. Oh well. It looks much more organized now.



Someone’s Getting Married Today
May 29, 2009, 9:56 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I would like to dedicate a post to two of my friends, Rebekah Bruce and James Parker, who are getting married this evening.

So if you’re going to their wedding, be sure to give them an extra special hug for me and give them lots of love.

Congratulations, Rebekah and James! I wish you all the best and I wish I could be there to share this day with you.