Midwest Meets Manhattan


New York City, Y’all
May 24, 2009, 12:59 pm
Filed under: Apartment | Tags: , ,

I’m not sure how to start this post.

I now have the good fortune to be able to address you, friends and family, from my apartment in New York City.

Yes! That’s right! I’m here – and I’m alive.

It’s been a charmed day, really. Well, except for the waking up at 4:30 to go to the airport part. Everything else has been just great. My flight from OKC left on time and arrived early in Memphis, and then my connection was short enough that I didn’t have a layover and I was able to just hop on the plane in Memphis. Then a few hours more and I made it to Laguardia (la-gwar-dee-ah, if you didn’t know). Hopped in a taxi with someone I met on the plane who was headed up into the same area, who was originally from Texas and really nice, and he ended up paying most of the ride because his work pays for his transportation – really nice, huh? So I only had like a $10 taxi charge to come all the way to Morningside Heights, where my apartment is.

And it’s like 80 degrees out – perfect sunny weather. Just sayin’.

So now I’m just chilling in my living room. The girl I’m renting from is leaving late tonight, so she’s still here or I’d go ahead and take some pictures. As soon as I’m able to, I’ll post some pics of the apartment and the surrounding area, so you guys will have a pretty good idea of where I’m living.

It’s a really safe area and I’m really happy here so far – well, the ten minutes or so that I’ve been here. Someone keeps a bike out on the landing of the living room window, ha. But since I think most of these buildings are owned by Columbia University, they’re all pretty nice – they’re all really old and historic looking, too, which makes me already completely love them. There’s a huge old cathedral down the street, too, which I’m really excited about. There’s also a pharmacy and a hospital and a fire station down the street – no need to worry about my safety here, haha.

In other news, the girl I’m renting from looks almost EXACTLY like my host sister in Japan, Chieri. Weird, huh? Crazy how things like that happen. Like, she looks and dresses scarily similarly to Chieri. It was kind of a shock to meet her for the first time because of that.

Anyway, I’m going to go procrastinate or something while she finishes packing. Probably work on my novel some or something. Or maybe take a nap, haha. Who knows? I’ll be back with more later.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

AHHH you’re there! And I’m here (in LA). We’re 3 hours apart. Which is CRAZY. I’m so glad it all worked out and went off without a hitch! I’ll be posting my LA Phil story later!

Comment by Kayla

I just read your 1st NYC blog out loud to James, Mira, and Talia!

I already miss you but I’m glad I got to see you last night!

Can’t WAIT to see pictures. I love that you’re in a historic building too. You’re so lucky to have had that cab experience!

LOVE YOU!

Comment by Rebekah




Leave a Reply

