Midwest Meets Manhattan


Packing Extravaganza LITE: New York City Edition
May 21, 2009, 11:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Really, the past couple of weeks have been a packing extravaganza as I prepare for my things to be moved to a new house while I am on the other side of the country world. However, now is the time when I prepare to take everything left in my room and stuff it into two suitcases. Maybe one suitcase and a duffel bag. Blerg. I’m not sure.

All I know is that I have a ton of clothes to pack. And shoes! I have to take shoes with me because I’ll be working – this isn’t a Keens and flip flops kind of deal. Not that I mind – most of you know I’m a heels girl all the way. Shoes are just hard to pack.

You know, packing for a move is hard because you have to take everything. Not just clothes and your basic toiletries. Everything. I have to pack bedding somewhere in my stuff. Literally, anything I’m going to want this summer has to come with me.

Like I said, blerg.

But since I’ve traveled a little bit, I’m going to share a few of my tips for packing light. I always start out using the Universal Packing List – it always gives me the basics and usually a few things I forgot. Of course every trip is different, but this gives you a good foundation.

In other news, I finally get to use the cute luggage tags I bought in Hawaii at the end of PacRim in 2007. Nice, huh?

I also recommend using some sort of micro-packing tool, such as Eagle Creek’s packing cubes. I’ve had these since I went on PacRim and can’t imagine going on a trip without them. While it doesn’t seem like it would help that much, it’s incredible for organization and really does make that extra space in your suitcase. The name brand ones can be rather expensive, though, so you can just get zip bags from Walmart or somewhere if you want – I just bought the more expensive ones because I knew they would last as long as I needed them to, and here I am, still using them two years later.

As far as packing goes, I’m taking one big suitcase full of clothes and shoes, and a second duffel bag with toiletries and miscellaneous other things, like sheets, jewelry, swimsuits, other things I forgot. That kind of thing. So far it’s going quite swimmingly, although I think by the time two more days pass, I’m going to have done a lot of resorting. I’ve already had to cut probably 1/10 of the clothes I wanted to take, simply because I realized that I wouldn’t be wearing them. It’s hard to make those distinctions, but absolutely necessary.

I’m not quite done packing yet, but I am going to bed for the night. It’s been a long day and I’m tired. I’m sure I’ll continue packing tomorrow, or I’ll be out doing something while the house is being shown. Either way, I’ll be keeping busy and getting ready for the trip.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

