Midwest Meets Manhattan


T-Minus 5.5 Days
May 19, 2009, 4:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m only five and a half days away from being on my own in NYC until mid-August. Scary, huh? I’m pretty pumped. I’m also a little nervous. Ok, that’s a lie. I’m a lot nervous. I’ve traveled, but I’ve never been to NYC.

Since this is only my first post and I’m still hanging out in my house in Oklahoma, I don’t have a ton to say. I’m planning to update several times a day once I get to NYC, as time and interesting things permit. Since I’m not working the first week I’m there, I’m going to be doing a part-time job search and doing some interesting semi-touristy things.

Why did I choose literacracy.wordpress.com as my blog home? I’m not exactly sure. Lately I’ve become a little obsessed with the concept of literocracy – I just like the spelling with an “a” better. A government based on intellectual thought and wisdom? Yes, please. I’m still exploring what this means to me, so I’ll keep you updated as I decide.

My theme quote for the summer is by St. Augustine, and reads “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” Since I’m doing a publishing internship in a city I’ve never been, I figured this was an apt choice.

Now, to get a haircut!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

