Midwest Meets Manhattan


Moving back home.
August 3, 2009, 11:48 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve been home for approximately 48 hours, and it still feels weird. It feels like everything is in slow motion – it’s just so quiet here! I’m in my parents’ big new house all by myself right now, and I don’t know what to do with all of the extra space. Sometimes I just walk around the house. I mean, the living room is, I think, as big as my entire apartment this summer. My bedroom here is three times the size of my bedroom in NYC. No, seriously. When you see my room here, you’ll be amazed at how I lived in such a tiny place this summer.

But that’s New York, I guess. And I miss it more than anything.

I mean, it’s good to be home and see everyone and just be able to relax a little, but I still desperately miss the traffic and the public transit and 24-hour everything and knowing that there is always something going on. I had forgotten that Edmond shuts down at like 9:00.

Another funny story: I went to Walmart on Saturday to pick up some break-n-bake cookies and parmesan cheese for dinner at Rebekah’s, and I wore what I would normally wear in an evening in NYC, a cool, casual outfit. I wore dark skinnies, black pumps, layered tanks with a flowy vest, and a locket. Not that big of a deal, right? Well, I forgot that in Oklahoma people wear sweats to Walmart. It was the most awkward moment. I hate to sound pretentious or snobby or anything like that, but it seriously felt like everyone was looking at me. I mean, I felt like I looked pretty good, but every day this summer has been about looking good. And I got rid of all of my junky casual clothes before I left, which I’m still ok with.

It’s just kind of weird.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

